On August 26, Abkhazia celebrates the Day of International Recognition of the Republic. The WAC web information portal recalls the brightest moments of the holiday and the unforgettable atmosphere of national happiness immediately after this event 11 years ago.

11 years ago, on August 26, 2008, the President of Russia (at that time - Dmitry Medvedev - ed.) signed decrees on the international recognition of the Republic of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.  In his statement, Medvedev emphasized: “Given the free will of the Ossetian and Abkhaz peoples, being guided by the provisions of the UN Charter, the 1970 declaration on the principles of international law regarding friendly relations between states, the 1975 Helsinki Final Act of the CSCE, and other fundamental international documents, I signed decrees on recognition by the Russian Federation of the independence of South Ossetia and the independence of Abkhazia.”

After Medvedev’s address was shown on federal channels of Russia, residents of Abkhazia began to gather in the main square of the country - Freedom Square near the former government building, which was burned and destroyed during the Patriotic War of the people of Abkhazia 1992-1993.  In just a few hours, the square was filled with tens of thousands of jubilant citizens of Abkhazia from all towns of the Republic. People gathered in a circle and performed Abkhaz dances, hugged and congratulated each other on the long-awaited international recognition of independence.  The then President of Abkhazia Sergey Bagapsh delivered a speech at the meeting, together with the country's first leaders and active fighters for the freedom of Abkhazia during the period of Georgian oppression. An unforgettable atmosphere of national happiness reigned in the square.

26 августа Абхазия празднует День международного признания Республики. Инфопортал ВААК вспоминает самые яркие моменты праздника и незабываемую атмосферу народного счастья сразу после этого события 11 лет назад.

11 лет назад, 26 августа 2008 года, президент России (в те годы – Дмитрий Медведев – прим. ред.) подписал Указы о международном признании Республик Абхазия и Южная Осетия. В своем заявлении Медведев подчеркнул: «Учитывая свободное волеизъявление осетинского и абхазского народов, руководствуясь положениями Устава ООН, декларацией 1970 года о принципах международного права, касающихся дружественных отношений между государствами, Хельсинкским Заключительным актом СБСЕ 1975 года, другими основополагающими международными документами – я подписал указы о признании Российской Федерацией независимости Южной Осетии и независимости Абхазии».

После того, как обращение Медведева показали по федеральным каналам России, жители Абхазии стали собираться на главной площади страны - площади Свободы у бывшего здания правительства, которое было сожжено и разрушено во время Отечественной войны народа Абхазии 1992-1993 годов. Буквально за несколько часов площадь наполнилась десятками тысяч ликующих граждан Абхазии изо всех городов Республики. Люди собирались в круг и исполняли абхазские танцы, обнимались и поздравляли друг друга с долгожданным международным признанием независимости. Перед собравшимися выступил тогдашний президент Абхазии Сергей Багапш, первые лица страны, активные борцы за свободу Абхазии в период грузинских притеснений. На площади царила незабываемая атмосфера народного счастья.